Top 5 Horse Races in the World

horse race

As a fan of horse racing, you might want to watch the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course. But if you can’t afford tickets to the Millionaires Row, you can enjoy the race from the infield. The infield has about 80,000 spectators, so you can get a great view of the horses as they pass by.

Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course

The Preakness Stakes is a Grade I thoroughbred horse race held on Armed Forces Day, the third Saturday of May. The race is run over 9.5 furlongs on dirt. The colts and geldings carry 126 pounds and the fillies carry 121 pounds.

St. Leger

The St. Leger is one of the most prestigious and oldest horse races in the world. The race has been running for nearly 200 years. In that time, only one race has been canceled, and that was in 1939, when Blue Peter lost his shot at winning the Triple Crown. This year’s renewal should feature a strong field of contenders.


The Oaks Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race in Great Britain. It is for three-year-old fillies, and is run at Epsom Downs over a distance of one mile. It is scheduled to take place each year in late May or early June. It is the second-oldest Classic race, after the St Leger.


The Derby horse race is an iconic event in the world of horse racing. The term derby comes from the Derby Stakes, an event run at Epsom Downs Racecourse in England. The 12th Earl of Derby was responsible for the race’s name, and it is a three-year-old-only race. The race is also known as the Kentucky Derby. However, there are other forms of derby, including roller derby, a sport without any horses.

King’s Plates

Canada has a long history of racing Thoroughbred horses, and the Queen’s Plate is one of the oldest continuous races in North America. This race is run over a mile and a quarter distance, and is open to three-year-old Thoroughbred horses foaled in Canada.

Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes is one of the most prestigious horse races in the world. Winners of this race are entitled to a Triple Crown, which includes the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes. To win a Triple Crown, a horse must win both of the other races.

Preakness Stakes at Belmont Park

The Preakness Stakes at Belmont park is an important race for horse racing fans. First run in 1873, the Preakness Stakes was named after a former Maryland governor, who wanted to honor the state’s state flower. The race also has a nickname: the “Run for the Black-Eyed Susans” – because the blanket that surrounds the winners is made of the state flower. The Preakness is the second-most-watched equestrian event in the United States, only surpassed by the Kentucky Derby.

Kentucky Derby

Watch the Kentucky Derby horse race on TV this Saturday, May 4 on NBC. The race will begin at approximately 6:57pm ET. The Kentucky Derby is one of the most famous horse races in the world. However, the Kentucky Derby has undergone changes over the years. Now, there is a point system for the Kentucky Derby. The top four finishers will receive a point.